<u>Mississippi State Capitol Bingo – Answer Key</u>

B I N G O

	T			
B-1	I-1	N-1	G-1	0-1
How many branches of state government are there? What are they called? – Three/3; Executive, Legislative, and Judicial branches.	How many bodies make up the Legislature? – Two/2; The Senate and the House of Representatives.	What is a bill? How does a bill become a law? – A bill is an idea for a possible law; A bill becomes a law when it passes in the House and the Senate and is signed into law by the Governor.	What is a symbol that might be found in the Mississippi State Capitol? – Various answers: The State flag, the American flag, the magnolia blossom, Lady Justice, the Eagle, etc.	Members of the Senate and House are elected to a term for how many years? – Four years.
B-2	I-2	N-2	G-2	O-2
What is a constitution? – A constitution is a document that states the basic principles and laws of a state.	How many Representatives does the State Legislature have? – 122.	When does the State Legislature meet and for how long? – The State Legislature meets every year. The first year of a new term is a longer Session which lasts about 125 days (January-April), while the other three years have the Session at 90 days (January-March).	What are committees? What do committees do? – A committee is a subgroup within the Legislature which discusses specific bills before they are presented to the House or Senate.	Who is the leader of the Senate? Who is the leader of the House? – The leader of the Senate is the Lieutenant Governor, also called the President of the Senate; the leader of the House is the Speaker of the House.
B-3	I-3	-	G-3	0-3
Why does a bill have to be passed by the House and the Senate? – To ensure that the best laws are made for the people of Mississippi.	How does the House vote? How does the Senate vote? – The House votes electronically using button boxes on their desks; the Senate votes by voice saying "Aye" or "Nay."	FREE SPACE	Who signs a bill into law? – The Governor signs bills into laws.	How many Senators does Mississippi have in the State Legislature? – 52.
B-4	I-4	N-4	G-4	0-4
What is the capital of Mississippi? – Jackson.	How many constitutions has Mississippi had? Which is our current one? – Mississippi has had four constitutions since statehood: The Constitutions of 1817, 1832, 1868, and 1890. Currently, we use the Constitution of 1890.	What is a district? How are districts drawn? – It is an area that is represented by a Representative or a Senator. The districts are drawn based off the population of an area.	What sculpture is at the top of the Mississippi State Capitol dome? – An eagle, which is made of copper, and painted with gold leaf.	What is a veto? – A veto is when the governor rejects a bill instead of signing it into law.

B-5	I-5	N-5	G-5	O-5
Who is the head of the Executive Branch in Mississippi? – The Governor of Mississippi.	Which branch of government actively works in the Mississippi State Capitol? – The Legislative Branch.	How are members of the Legislature chosen? – Senators and Representatives are elected by the registered voters of Mississippi.	When the Legislature is in Session, what are two ways for people to view the Session? – People can come to the Capitol to see the Session in person or they can go to the website (legislature.ms.gov) to watch the live webcasts of the House and the Senate.	What does each branch of government do? — The Legislative branch makes laws, the Executive branch enforces laws, and the Judicial branch interprets laws.